Talk Back to Those Gremlins!

108

We all do it.  That little voice that seems to appear from nowhere ….

  • I’m not good at this
  • I can’t do that
  • I don’t have time
  • I’m not sure
  • What will they think?
  • I’m such an idiot

Would you talk like that to a loved one?

The answer is ‘probably not.’

Talking to those gremlins
Next time you catch yourself talking like that to yourself, pause for a moment …. and talk back.  Don’t allow your negative gremlin to get away with it.  Give it a challenge and ask yourself the following 5 questions:

  1. Really? Is that REALLY true?
  2. What is helpful about talking to myself in this way?
  3. What could I say to myself right now that is true and more empowering?
  4. What do I really want and need right now that is making me talk to myself in such a negative way? Make it a juicy statement of intent!
  5. What can I put into place to help me achieve this?

For a wonderful book about taming your gremlin check out Taming Your Gremlin (Revised Edition): A Surprisingly Simple Method for Getting Out of Your Own Way.

Repeatedly challenging those gremlins will give you a truer and more positive perspective of yourself.

And you deserve that. We all do.

Do you want your gremlin to shut the f….k up? Start talking back to your gremlin.

Leave a Reply

